I Promised I would Get Back Again..

So, I guess I better do something about it! LOL

My trip, as many may have figured out had a couple of minor glitches in it as I traveled from N. Calif. to Arizona, but all things considered, it went quite smoothly for this still newbie rv’er. I have a feeling I’ll be a newbie for a long time since I don’t actually pull up stakes and move that often! LOL

I was very pleased though the morning I left Calif.  Instead of having a case of the shakes like I had experienced when parting with my family back in April, I actually felt quite comfy with the notion of just driving.  Of course, within about 20 minutes of taking off I came across a spot of road construction to add a bit of spice to the start of the day.  I was lucky though, first place in line was mine, so I didn’t have to sit and smell someone elses’s exhaust while I looked over my map again.  Once I got back on the road I cruised along for quite some time enjoying the view and thinking of those I was leaving behind.  Who would have thought I would be so lucky to have spent my first summer “rootless” with such a wonderful group of people!

I hit my second spot of road construction before Susanville, Ca.  Luckily the line was fairly short as we were on a mountainside at the time and I really wasn’t looking forward to sitting there indefinitely with a 19′ travel trailer hooked on to my van! LOL  We did set for a while, but once moving again I had pretty smooth sailing out of the state and on into Nevada where I stopped my first night at a great little park called Frontier in Hawthorne.  Nothing fancy, but run by a true gentleman of a manager.  More about him and my trials and tribulations of the night are talked about in the Tips post (about valve stems).  Bless his heart for being so helpful!

Once I got back on the road the next day it was pretty smooth sailing much of the day.  I do wonder how I stayed on the road as well as I did though as I spent an awful lot of time craning my neck from one side of the road to the other.  Do you have any idea how many years it has been since I last looked at a cactus (let alone hundreds of them stretching as far away as I could see) in it’s native habitat?  And Joshua Trees!  The landscape was a delight for my eye, though radically different from the views in Montana or N. Calif.!

My second night was spent in Indian Springs, Nv. (won’t be staying there again though I felt quite safe in my little house on wheels).  Little details that make a park a memory worth keeping were missing.  That it wasn’t in the heart of Las Vegas was it’s appeal to me, as I really did not want to take on the traffic anymore than I had to in that town!

I do have to say, for as large a city as Las Vegas is, the traffic at about 10 in the morning isn’t too bad at all! LOL  I drove right thru on Hwy. 95 with only a couple of slow downs.  Considering all I had been told about the horrors of their roadways, I didn’t see anything worse than I had experienced in the past around Spokane or Seattle, Wa. when I had to traipse off to those cities ( and I wasn’t towing anything then!).

I had planned on traveling down Hwy. 95 into Blythe, Ca. for my third night of my journey, but DS convinced me on the phone the night before to take Hwy. 93 instead…….  Now, this comes after he tells me it is never really a good idea to change your plans once you have your route laid out………..  LOL  Never fear, I did make it thru the area without too much difficulty (I did turn off at the wrong exit for the hwy.) but that oops was easily remedied.  The part that really blew my mind and freaked me out was the crossing of the Hoover Dam!!!!! Yoikes!  First off, instead of being able to follow the truck route around town, I stayed on what was supposedly the direct hwy. route and couldn’t find a single sign to point me the way I needed to go.  The folks I yelled out the window to at one point had no more idea than I did as to whether I was on the right track or not either.  Well, when all else fails, going forward is usually a pretty good solution, isn’t it?!!!!  Since I was more or less in a residential area, I chose to believe it was at any rate, so forward I went!  Saw a beautiful big lake out of the corner of my eye, turns out it was Lake Mead.  Had I read my maps recently?  Not on your life! LOL  I just decided to go with what DS had suggested to me the night before and prayed I was going to get somewhere close to Wickenburg, Az. before nightfall.

Well, imagine my shock and surprise when the road suddenly starts getting twisty and heading in a downward direction and I’m seeing more and more signs saying trucks were not to cross the dam……….   I did vaguely remember DS mentioning something about Hoover Dam, but with the phone connection being rather scratchy I had thought he had said I would see the Hoover Dam, not drive over it!!!!!  Oh man, I really was not sure I was ready for this little trek after all, but with traffic in front of me and behind me, to say nothing of traffic climbing out of the same canyon I was driving down into, there was no place to even stop and shake a while!  I finally got to where the dam officially started to be greeted by a policeman from the Homeland Security, really nice man who could only chuckle when he learned I was quaking in my sandals and swearing I was going to kill my son for changing my travel plans for me!  After his peeking into my house and wishing me a good trip, I had no choice to push on.  Well, I drove over the dam, it really isn’t that long a trip, but could I tell you what it looked like?  Not on your life! LOL  I had a real good view of the road I was on and the section of it ahead of me.  Remember, what goes down usually has to go up????!!!!!  It did and I did too and it really wasn’t as bad as I had feared.  The speed limit is so low that nobody could be upset by my having to take my time hauling out of there, they couldn’t go more than 25 miles an hour either! LOL  Do I want to cross the Hoover Dam again???  Not if I can find a way around it, but I will if I have no choice.  It probably was a view worth seeing and maybe if I went over it again I would have chance to look around.  I’ll just have to see what happens come spring.

Now, things have been going pretty well so far, don’t you think, all things considered???!!!!!  Couldn’t last forever, I have to tell you!  I drove on for some time, had to finally stop for gas again and before I left whatever town I was in at the time (it escapes me now though it had some of the prettiest adobe buildings for me to squeal over as I drove in) I had to have a new set of shocks put on the back end of the van.  Now that isn’t a big deal is it?  Well, try watching a guy crawl under the jacked up rear end of your vehicle with a trailer still attached to it and see if you don’t feel a bit differently about it! LOL  Bless his heart, he said he could do it and he did though I wasn’t the only one keeping an eye on him.  His co-workers all found they had nothing better to do than stand there with me and watch to be sure the jack didn’t come down on him!

Back on the road once more and headed for my night’s stopping place of Wickenburg, Az.  Yes, I had finally spent a bit of time with my maps and knew I didn’t want to proceed any further or I would find myself in Phoenix’s traffic at rush hour…….  Not a good idea at the best of times.  So, instead of continuing I spent a bit of time getting lost in that sweet little town until some guys at a car lot got me pointed in the right direction for finding Jack Burden road, which according to my campground directory would lead me to the Desert Cypress RV Resort.  All that I talked about in my post called “Almost There” so I won’t bore you with it all again, just know that this is one place I would happily return to any time.  If you ever drop in there tell Jim and his wife Jeri (I didn’t get to meet her, unfortunately) that female “nut” from Montana says Hi!

So, to the end of my journey we have come…  At least this chapter of it.

I arrived with no more mishaps, to be welcomed by my new boss Derald and my co-workers Jenny and Lea on Friday afternoon, just a week and a half ago.  I think I am going to be quite happy here, too, though I sure wish the temps would come down to a more normal range! LOL  Dang, it is hot here!  Been getting into the low hundreds’ every day and doesn’t cool below the high 70s’ at night yet.  According to the weather people this is not a normal thing. it is usually only in the 90s’ at this time of the year.  It figures, when I arrive, the temps decide to be mean! LOL

The new job???!!!!!!  It’s going to be a challenge, but a lot of fun also, I have a feeling!  After all, I’m not only getting to help set up fun things to do this year and somewhat for next year, but I also get to take part in any of the activities I want to.  Dinner theatres, dancing, Bingo, lunches out in town and much, much more!

I’ll keep you posted on some of the activities as my winter out of the cold temps of Montana progresses.

Leave a Reply

